

## JAKE BUTT OF MICHIGAN NAMED 2016 JOHN MACKEY AWARD RECIPIENT

New York, N.Y. (December 7, 2016) – The Friends of John Mackey have announced Jake Butt of Michigan as the 2016 John Mackey Award recipient. The John Mackey Award trophy will be presented to Butt on December 8<sup>th</sup>, live on ESPNU, at 6:00 pm EST on The Red Carpet Special at The Home Depot College Football Awards.

In his four years, Butt has been "a rock" for the University of Michigan. Jake is an outstanding leader as evidenced by his position as co-captain of the offense and the fact that he almost never comes off the field. A gifted student-athlete, Butt has starred as an outstanding receiver who is more than capable in protection and is also an effective run blocker. Butt is the seventeenth player to win the John Mackey Award and the first player from the University of Michigan to hold this accomplishment.

A First-Team All-American in 2015 and Preseason All-American in 2016, Butt was outstanding again this season recording 43 receptions for 518 yards and 4 touchdowns. 29 of his 43 receptions resulted in first downs and his blocking efforts have contributed to the No. 2 rush offense in the Big Ten. He is also Michigan's career leader among tight ends in receptions (135) and receiving yards (1,618) and ranks second in touchdowns (11). Butt will be leading his team to the 2016 Capital One Orange Bowl on December 30<sup>th</sup> against Florida State, live on ESPN.

The John Mackey Award is given to the collegiate tight end who best exemplifies the play, sportsmanship, academics, and community values of NFL Hall of Fame tight end John Mackey. The 2016 John Mackey Award recipient was determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Selection Committee.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, recognizes fourteen alumni that have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04), Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06), Fred Davis ('07), Chase Coffman ('08), D.J. Williams ('10), Dwayne Allen ('11) of the Indianapolis Colts, Tyler Eifert ('12) of the Cincinnati Bengals, Austin Seferian-Jenkins ('13) of the New York Jets, Nick O'Leary ('14) of the Buffalo Bills and

2015 John Mackey Award recipient Hunter Henry of the San Diego Chargers.

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast over 722 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit <u>www.NCFAA.org</u> to learn more about our story.

The Friends of John Mackey are responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Please visit <u>www.johnmackeyaward.com</u> for all John Mackey Award related information.

## 2016 John Mackey Award Recipient

Jake Butt (SR, Michigan)

-###-