

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE CONTACT: media@johnmackeyaward.com

2018 JOHN MACKEY AWARD FINALISTS ANNOUNCED

New York, N.Y. (November 19, 2018) – The John Mackey Award has announced three finalists for the 2018 Award. Listed alphabetically, they are: T.J. Hockenson (SO, Iowa), Albert Okwuegbunam (SO, Missouri) and Kaden Smith (JR, Stanford).

The three finalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the 2018 John Mackey Award recipient will be announced on December 5, 2018 and presented live on December 6, 2018 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 6:00 p.m. ET on ESPNU. All future announcements can be found at <u>www.johnmackeyaward.com</u> and on our official twitter account: <u>@JohnMackeyAward</u>.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, recognizes fifteen alumni that have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04), Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Green Bay Packers, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06), Fred Davis ('07), Chase Coffman ('08), D.J. Williams ('10), Dwayne Allen ('11) of the New England Patriots, Tyler Eifert ('12) of the Cincinnati Bengals, Austin Seferian-Jenkins ('13) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, Nick O'Leary ('14) of the Miami Dolphins, Hunter Henry ('15) of the Los Angeles Chargers, Jake Butt (16') of the Denver Broncos and 2017 John Mackey Award recipient Mark Andrews of the Baltimore Ravens.

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 23 awards boast over 745 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit <u>www.NCFAA.org</u> to learn more about our story.

Please visit <u>www.johnmackeyaward.com</u> for all John Mackey Award related information.