JOHN MACKEY AWARD

BEST COLLEGIATE TIGHT END

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: media@johnmackeyaward.com



2019 JOHN MACKEY AWARD SEMI-FINALISTS ANNOUNCED

New York, N.Y. (November 18, 2019) – The Friends of John Mackey have announced eight semi-finalists for the 2019 John Mackey Award. Listed alphabetically, they are: Harrison Bryant (SR, Florida Atlantic), Hunter Bryant (JR, Washington), Brycen Hopkins (SR, Purdue), Brevin Jordan (SO, Miami), Charlie Kolar (SO, Iowa St), Albert Okwuegbunam (JR, Missouri), Colby Parkinson (JR, Stanford) and Giovanni Ricci (SR, Western Michigan).

The eight semi-finalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the 2019 John Mackey Award recipient will be announced on December 11, 2019 and presented live on December 12, 2019 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 6:00 p.m. ET on ESPNU. Other key dates include the announcement of the 2019 Mackey Finalists on November 25, 2019. All future announcements can be found at www.johnmackeyaward.com and on our official twitter account: @JohnMackeyAward.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, recognizes seventeen alumni that have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04), Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Green Bay Packers, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06), Fred Davis ('07), Chase Coffman ('08), D.J. Williams ('10), Dwayne Allen ('11), Tyler Eifert ('12) of the Cincinnati Bengals, Austin Seferian-Jenkins ('13), Nick O'Leary ('14), Hunter Henry ('15) of the Los Angeles Chargers, Jake Butt ('16) of the Denver Broncos, Mark Andrews ('17) of the Baltimore Ravens and 2018 John Mackey Award recipient T.J. Hockenson of the Detroit Lions.

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit NCFAA.org to learn more about the association.

The Friends of John Mackey are responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Please visit www.johnmackeyaward.com for all John Mackey Award related information.

2019 John Mackey Award Semi-Finalists

(Listed alphabetically)

Harrison Bryant (SR, Florida Atlantic)

Hunter Bryant (JR, Washington)

Brycen Hopkins (SR, Purdue)

Brevin Jordan (SO, Miami)

Charlie Kolar (SO, Iowa St)

Albert Okwuegbunam (JR, Missouri)

Colby Parkinson (JR, Stanford)

Giovanni Ricci (SR, Western Michigan)

-###-